New Louisiana Law Will Require Children Under 16 To Get Parent Approval To Access Social Media Starting July 1st, 2024, You Can Be Fined Up To $2,500 For Each Violation Of This Act

In Louisiana, minors must get their parents’ permission to access social media accounts.

According to SB162, which was written by state senator Patrick McMath, a Republican from Covington, children under the age of 16 need permission from a parent or legal guardian in order to have a social media account. The law was approved by Governor John Bel Edwards.

A social media corporation must, in accordance with the new law, use “commercially reasonable efforts” to confirm the legal age of Louisiana account users and deny access to children without their parents’ permission.

Parents can give consent through a form, a call to a toll-free number, a video call, responding to an email with steps to verify identity or any other “reasonable method” to give consent.

The new law mandates additional safeguards for kids’ internet safety, such as:

The law permits parents to keep an eye on their child’s online behavior, establish access restrictions, and go through any reports their youngster submits.

A civil fine of up to $2,500 may be imposed by the court for any infraction of this law.

On July 1st, 2024, this law is expected to take effect.

Source: @brproudnews – Photo: @gettyimages

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Gerson Fuentes, Who Raped A 9-Year-Old Ohio Girl That Later Got An Abortion Out Of State In Indiana, Was Sentenced To Life In Prison

Nelly Has Secured A $50 Million Deal With Harbourview Equity Partners For 50% Ownership Over His Entire Music Catalog